Farro Salad

On the days I am off work, I need to make the most of my time at home … and today was no different. I had a good bit of reading, homework and 2 quizzes I needed to do, in addition to grocery shopping, laundry, etc. I also wanted to make sure it was nutritious and would help fuel me for the rest of the day.

When I am home I try to be very intentional about eating really healthy and incorporating as many fruits and veggies as I can. Since I am home and have access to my kitchen (refrigerator, oven, stove, etc.), I can also be a little creative (as opposed to just a quick sandwich).

I had heard the many benefits of farro, but had a hard time finding it at my local grocery stores and had not tried it yet. Today was the day! I finally found it and thought since I was home I would whip up a little farro salad. Really filling and tasty! It’s also something that will store well and I can eat on for a couple days while I am home cranking away on homework. Seriously worth a try! It’s like a nuttier, heartier, more firm rice.

This is my Mediterranean farro salad (I have made a similar salad with orzo) with a twist that is an unusual ingredient, but works so well with all the other components.

1 cup farro (cook according to package directions)
1/2 cucumber (unpeeled, all the nutrition is in the skin)
1/2 red bell pepper (could also use yellow or orange)
1 small shallot (could use a red onion as well)
1/2 pint strawberries
1/2 cup spinach (I also love arugula in this)
1/4 cup pitted Kalamata olives (halved)
1/2-3/4 cup Greek dressing
Feta or goat cheese crumbled

Dice up the cucumber, bell pepper and strawberries into the same sizes (I did a small’ish dice). Cut up the shallot pretty small (mine was much smaller than the other veggies, no one likes biting into a hug hunk of onion).

Once the farro is cooked, make sure it is strained (you do not want any residual liquid). Let cool a few minutes (you don’t want rubbery cucumbers). I stuck mine in the fridge for about 5 minutes. Add the shallots, bell pepper, olives and spinach (the spinach will slightly wilt). Mix up well. Once it is cooled more, add the cucumbers and  strawberries. Add Greek dressing and combine well. Add feta or goat cheese. Taste for seasoning and adjust as needed. Serve and enjoy!

It would be delicious with some grilled shrimp, salmon or chicken!

20170125_131722

One thought on “Farro Salad

  1. I didn’t know you still had a blog! Although I am biased, good post! Clyde’s used to serve a dish with farro (roast chicken and farro w/greens, I think), it was a huge favorite. Since farro is wheat I can’t eat it, but it looks wonderful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

