Super Simple Summer in a Snap

It is freakin’ hot here … I mean so hot I literally might melt. This weather is really not my cup of iced tea. There is no relief in sight and I was desperate for some relief. At the grocery store I saw some really yummy looking watermelon that cooled me just looking at it.

This year while living out in the country, hubby & I decided to try our hands at gardening. One of the things we decided to “try” was basil … well, apparently when it rains it pours. We have basil almost literally come out our ears!

With summer bearing down on us and fresh, cool ingredients … I had to try a flavor combination I had heard was delicious, but never experimented with. Success!!

Here it is … one of my new favorite flavor combinations and something that is going to keep me cool all summer

Watermelon chunks (bite size)20150615_193338
Crumbled Feta (this would also be good with goat cheese crumbles)
Basil (chiffonade)
Balsamic Vinegar

Cut up the watermelon into bite size chunk. Add the basil and feta crumbles. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar.

Variation: Add cucumbers for some crunch and ridiculous freshness!

Leave a Reply

