Perfect for Summer

One week it’s snowing and the next it’s sunny and 80’ish … which is HOT for me. I am not a fan of hot weather … warm is ok (lets define “warm” as no more than 75 degrees), hot is NOT. When it’s hot I always say I go from one air conditioned unit to another. It’s the only way to survive. Well, not the ONLY way … the other way is to eat cool summery foods! I don’t have as large a repertoire of summery foods, but the ones I do have, I make quite a bit and they are quick and easy and do not require heating up the kitchen. The following recipe is one that we eat often and seems to go with so much and is so refreshing (GREAT with hamburgers fresh off the grill). Also, I could eat cucumbers by the pound (seriously, ask my father-in-law, we “fight” over them when we are together). So whatever way I can find to incorporate them into dishes, I do! 😉

Cucumber and Mozzerella “Salad”

Ingredients
2 Cucumbers (peeled)
Cherry Tomatoes
Fresh Mozzerella block
Garlic Powder
Salt/Pepper
Parsley

Cut each cucumber in half and then each half in half again (quarter spears). Slice each spear into bite size chunks. (How do you like my technical terminology? Ha!!) Wash the cherry tomatoes and cut in half. Cut the mozzarella into bite-size cubes. Put all these into one bowl and add a little garlic powder, salt and pepper. Taste as you go and don’t over season. Sometimes hubby likes it when I add just a tad of balsamic vinegar.

*Note* Penzeys has a garlic salt that is really perfect for this.

2 thoughts on “Perfect for Summer

Leave a Reply

