Baked Oatmeal Cupcakes

I am a breakfast girl! I love breakfast anytime day or night, and the later at night it gets, the better breakfast is. I love late weekend mornings with eggs, bacon (or sausage) and toast (or a bagel). I love the occasional bowl of cereal late at night. I love going to brunch on the weekends, I love breakfast for dinner. Growing up, when Dad was home on the weekends, we always made a big breakfast. Eggs, bacon, toast. On Christmas day, Dad always makes a huge breakfast (well, the older we got, the more it morphed into brunch and then lunch. Sleep became a far more precious commodity than presents early in the mornings.) complete with eggs, either sausage or bacon

The only caveat I give to “I love all things breakfast” is that I cannot handle sweets first thing in the morning and typically when it comes to breakfast or brunch foods I edge toward the more savory, not muffins or “bready” things.

Lately, my goal has been to eat breakfast every morning and I am trying to eat things that are hearty & healthy. The “to-go” oatmeal (my favorite brand is “Love Grown Foods”) has been one thing that is easy to do. Add water and voila, healthy breakfast! It’s not super sweet and it’s good for me. I came across a recipe for Baked Oatmeal Cupcakes and thought it would be a great breakfast for these work mornings and be a quick, healthy but not sweet option. I really used the recipe as more of a base and tweaked it to my liking and what I had on hand. The “cupcakes” turned out great and are pretty healthy! You can adjust the sweet level to your liking as well.

Baked Oatmeal Cupcakes
(makes 12 cupcakes)

  • 2 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 1/4 cups over-ripe mashed banana, measured after mashing
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 tbsp sugar (can substitute honey or agave)
  • 1 1/3 cups coconut milk
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3 tbsp butter (melted) or canola oil (can use coconut oil also)
  • 1 1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • optional add-ins: cinnamon, shredded coconut, chopped walnuts, ground flax or wheat germ, raisins or other dried fruit, etc.
  • optional: 2/3 cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 380 F, line 12 cupcake tins. In a large mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients and stir very well. In a separate bowl, combine and stir all wet ingredients (including banana). Mix wet into dry, then pour into the cupcake liners and bake 21 minutes. These oatmeal cakes can be eaten right away, or they can be frozen and reheated for an instant breakfast on a busy day.

Leave a Reply

