Fall Apple Crisp

Cool, crisp weather has definitely arrived and the leaves have started changing color. This is my FAVORITE time of year! When I was a kid, when the weather turned cool & crisp it meant apple picking and apple crisps and apple cobblers. During our yearly apple picking trips we would almost always pick up a couple pumpkins and a few gourds and thus began the fall decorating at home. My mom would almost always combine the apple crisps & cobblers with other fruit and my favorite was usually an apple cranberry crisp. Well, I didn’t have any cranberries, so I just used what I had in my freezer. I had forgotten how quick & easy crisps are. Crisps are great, warm, fall desserts that use seasonal fruits and can be super versatile!

This dessert is a small version as it’s just for hubby & I, but it can very easily be made larger. The portions listed below are for a small, square pan of crisp.

3 apples, peeled, cubed (I tend to use larger cubes)
3/4 cup strawberries, frozen (I had sliced them before I froze them)
1/2 cup blueberries, frozen
2 tablespoons white sugar
1 teaspoon lemon juice
2 tablespoons gluten-free all purpose flour
2 tablespoons brown sugar
3/4 cup old fashioned rolled oats
2-3 tablespoons stick butter
1/4 cup chopped pecans (any nuts can be used)
Cinnamon, nutmeg or a bit of allspice could be added depending on like. (I am not a huge fan of any of those

Preheat the oven to 350. Peel the apples and cut around the core. Cut them into medium-sized cubes. Add any other fruit to the apples. Add the white sugar, lemon juice & 1 tablespoon of the flour. Stir thoroughly and let sit a few minutes. In a separate bowl combine the brown sugar, remaining flour, oats, butter and pecans. Combine with your fingers (or a fork, I find my fingers always work better) until the butter becomes like small peas in the mixture.

IMG_0443

Lightly grease a glass baking dish (I used one that was about 9×9) and pour the fruit into the baking dish. Pour the oat mixture over the fruit and spread evenly. Bake for 20-30 minutes until the apples are soft.

It can be enjoyed with ice cream or whipped cream. Best eaten when still warm! 🙂

IMG_0447-E

Copyright © AromasFromMyKitchen
Leave a Reply

